Richard M. Ransohoff MD

Harvard Medical School

Richard M. Ransohoff, MD is visiting faculty at Dept of Cell Biology, Harvard Medical School and consultant at the Whitehead Institute, MIT.

From 2014-2017, Dr. Ransohoff was VP responsible for Acute Neurology, Neuroinflammation-in-Neurodegeneration (AD, PD, ALS) and Pain Therapeutic Areas, as well as Senior Biogen Research Fellow (from October, 2014) at Biogen and Adjunct Professor of Pathology, Case Western Reserve University (CWRU). There he directed a team of >40 researchers and clinicians, responsible for developing drugs for acute and chronic neurodegenerative disease, from target identification through phase II proof of concept.

From 1984-2014 Ransohoff was Staff Member at Cleveland Clinic where he founded and directed the Neuroinflammation Research Center of the Lerner Research Institute (2005-2014) and served (1984-2014) as Staff Neurologist, Cleveland Clinic Mellen Center for MS Treatment and Research. After AB (Literature) from Bard College and MD with honors from Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine ((CWRU-SOM), residencies in Internal Medicine at Mt. Sinai Medical Center (Cleveland) and Neurology (Cleveland Clinic), he performed post-doctoral research work in the Dept of Molecular Biology and Microbiology at CWRU-SOM. He lists more than 400 scientific articles and reviews in PubMed (Google Scholars h-index 113 in November 2017), and has trained >70 students and post-docs who now hold positions in academics and industry. He’s served as regular member of NIH Study Sections (1995-2016) and Chaired Scientific Review Panel B, National Multiple Sclerosis Society; served as Section Editor, J Immunology; Advisory Editorial Board, Trends Immunol (2003-present); Highlights Advisory Board, Nature Rev Immunol (through 2011), Associate Editor of Neurology® and founding Editor of Neurology®: Neuroimmunology and Neuroinflammation. He received the John J. Dystel Award for MS Research from the National MS Society and American Academy of Neurology (2012) and was named in the “Best Doctors” compendium from 1996-2014 for his expertise in patient care of individuals with MS and related conditions. He serves on the Scientific Advisory Boards of the Gladstone Institute for Neurological Disease (UCSF); German Center for Research in Neurodegenerative Disease (DZNE); the Keystone Symposia; and Chemocentryx.